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Law prohibits children driving motor-powered vehicles on roads

To play on a well-known racing phrase, “Children, start your engines!” 

In Kentucky, that could be the summer’s theme, considering the number of all-terrain vehicles (ATVs) and motorized scooters being driven by children on neighborhood streets in McCracken County.

Unfortunately, according to state law, those motorized vehicles driven by children have no place on Kentucky roads.


“Kentucky law is quite specific,” said McCracken County Attorney Dan Boaz. “If you drive a motor-powered vehicle of any kind on a Kentucky road—including subdivision roads—you must have a driver’s license.”


That means anyone under the age of 16 is automatically prohibited from driving a scooter, ATV, moped, go-cart, golf cart, motorcycle, or any other motor-powered vehicle on any road in the state, according to Boaz. And anyone age 16 or older without a driver’s license also is prohibited from driving these vehicles on Kentucky roads.


“This law applies to everyone—not just kids. If you drive on a Kentucky road, you must have a driver’s license,” said Boaz.

However, even a driver’s license won’t get ATV drivers a free pass on Kentucky roads.


“Despite what their name implies, ATVs are not really all-terrain. They are not for use on paved roads and highways. They are dangerous on these surfaces.”


According to Boaz Kentucky law permits ATV drivers on roads only for specific reasons:

· Under most circumstances, ATVs can only operate on a road for up to 0.2 miles, when the driver is crossing the road. The driver must cross the road at as close to a 90-degree angle as practical and safe. For instance, if a hunter is using an ATV on property that is divided by a road, he or she can drive the ATV across the road to get to the other side of the trail.

· In some instances, a licensed driver may operate an all-terrain vehicle on a two-lane public highway if the operator is engaged in farm or agricultural related activities, construction, road maintenances, or snow removal.

Those who drive ATVs on roads for any other reason than those listed above face a fine of $20-$50. If a child is found to be operating a prohibited vehicle without a driver’s license, the parents could be cited and summoned to court under the same law that prohibits an unlicensed driver from operating a motor vehicle. The penalties include up to 90 days in jail and/or a $250 fine.


For safety reasons, Kentucky law also stipulates the size of an ATV a child can operate on off-road sites.

· Those under 16 years of age cannot operate an ATV with an engine larger than 90 cubic centimeters displacement or without direct parental supervision.

· Those under age 12 cannot operate an ATV with an engine size exceeding 70 cubic centimeters displacement.

“The size of the ATV is important because a child is not physically strong enough to maneuver the larger ATVs,” Boaz said. “Many ATV accidents occur because a child is attempting to drive an adult-sized ATV.” 


According to Safe Kids USA, ATV crashes, compared to bicycle crashes, are six times as likely to send a child to the hospital and 12 times more likely to kill a child. Age also makes a difference. In fact, a child riding an ATV is four times as likely to be seriously injured as a driver over the age of 16. Because of this, Kentucky law stipulates that ATV riders and drivers under age 16 must wear a helmet in most situations.


“Laws to guard the safety of children under age 16 just make sense when it comes to operating ATVs off-road,” said Boaz. “If our laws say a child is not old enough to drive a car equipped with seatbelts and airbags on a paved road, then that child needs to follow extra safety precautions when operating an open-seat vehicle at speeds of up to 70 miles per hour over dirt trails.”
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